Omicron has been found in 19 states


Bema Kalys kyzy, Student Writer

The new variant of Coronavirus has been found in 19 states and 57 countries.

The states where the virus was found are: Washington, California, Utah, Colorado, Nebraska, Texas, Loisiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Mississippi, Georgia, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut.

According to Dr. Rochelle Walensky, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, they “expect that number to continue to increase”. According to studies, the omicron is likely to spread more easily than its predecessors.

Even though the new variant is a center of discussions, the delta variation still remains dominant in the U.S. According to CDC, the way to be safe from catching omicron is still the same: to get vaccinated, wear masks and get tested if you have any symptoms.

The new variant was November 11 in Botswana and has spread to 57 countries.

Doctors from hospitals in South Africa’s capital Pretoria, who are monitoring patients with Omicron, say they carry the infection more easily than those with the previous version of Delta. Moreover, most of the patients have been admitted to hospitals for other reasons and have no symptoms of the coronavirus.

These observations are preliminary and not subject to peer review. However, deaths from coronavirus in South Africa have not yet increased, despite the increase in the number of cases.