Today In Sports History

National League is born


Stock Photo

A copy of the original book of rules for the National League.

John Cañamar, Sports Editor

On February 2, 1876 the National League of Professional Base Ball Clubs was formed in Chicago.

William Hulbert, owner of the Chicago White Stockings created the National League to replace the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players because he was of opinion that it was corrupt.

The league’s teams were to be in cities of at least a population 75,000.

The original eight teams were:

Boston Red Caps

Chicago White Stockings

           Cincinnati Reds

Hartford Dark Blues

Louisville Grays

New York Mutuals

Philadelphia Athletics

St. Louis Brown Stockings

Today the National League has 15 teams and is part of Major League Baseball.